Last updated: November 5, 2026
gpt-oss-120b vs Gemini 3 Pro comes down to control versus reach. gpt-oss-120b is an open-weight model you can run anywhere; on AkashML it costs $0.037 per million input tokens and $0.187 per million output tokens (as of November 5, 2026). Gemini 3 Pro is a closed Google API at $2 and $12 that adds a 1M-token context, multimodal input and higher benchmark scores.
TL;DR
- Price: gpt-oss-120b on AkashML is about 54x cheaper on input and 64x cheaper on output than Gemini 3 Pro (November 5, 2026 list prices).
- Context: 131,072 tokens for gpt-oss-120b vs 1,048,576 for Gemini 3 Pro.
- Tool use: Both do native function calling with low, medium and high reasoning settings. Gemini 3 Pro scores higher on agent benchmarks.
- Ownership: gpt-oss-120b is Apache 2.0 and fits on one 80 GB GPU. Gemini 3 Pro runs only on Google.
- Naming: Google retired the
gemini-3-pro-previewID on March 9, 2026; it now routes to Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview at the same price.
Which should you choose: gpt-oss-120b or Gemini 3 Pro?
Choose gpt-oss-120b when cost per task, provider choice and data control matter most; choose Gemini 3 Pro when a request needs more than 128K tokens, non-text input, or maximum accuracy.
| Your workload | Better fit |
|---|---|
| High-volume support, triage or tool-calling agents | gpt-oss-120b |
| RAG over chunked documents under 128K tokens | gpt-oss-120b |
| Regulated data or self-hosted deployments | gpt-oss-120b |
| Whole-repository or multi-hour coding agents | Gemini 3 Pro |
| Images, PDFs with charts, audio or video | Gemini 3 Pro |
How do gpt-oss-120b and Gemini 3 Pro compare on specs?
gpt-oss-120b is a 117B-parameter Mixture-of-Experts (MoE) model that activates 5.1B parameters per token; Google does not disclose Gemini 3 Pro’s size.
| Spec | gpt-oss-120b | Gemini 3 Pro (now 3.1 Pro Preview) |
|---|---|---|
| License | Apache 2.0, open weights | Proprietary, API only |
| Parameters (total / active) | 117B / 5.1B | Not disclosed |
| Context window (tokens) | 131,072 (shared by prompt and output) | 1,048,576 input |
| Max output (tokens) | Within the 131K window | 65,536 |
| Input types | Text | Text, images, audio, video and PDF |
| Reasoning control | Low, medium, high | Low, medium, high thinking level |
| Tool use | Function calling, browsing, Python, structured outputs | Function calling, Search grounding, code execution, structured outputs |
| Self-hosting | One 80 GB GPU (MXFP4 weights) | Not possible |
The gap that matters most is context: Gemini 3 Pro takes about 8x more tokens per request. On memory, gpt-oss-120b’s MXFP4 weights are about 65 GB, which is why one 80 GB GPU is enough before accounting for the KV cache. For how total and active parameters translate into GPU memory, see our MoE GPU sizing guide.
Sources: OpenAI, Introducing gpt-oss; Hugging Face: openai/gpt-oss-120b; Ollama: gpt-oss:120b; Gemini 3 developer guide.
How much does gpt-oss-120b cost compared with Gemini 3 Pro?
On AkashML, gpt-oss-120b costs $0.037 input and $0.187 output per million tokens; Gemini 3 Pro costs $2.00 and $12.00 for prompts up to 200K tokens. List rates as of November 5, 2026:
| USD per 1M tokens | gpt-oss-120b on AkashML | Gemini 3 Pro Standard (≤200K / >200K) | Gemini 3 Pro Batch (≤200K) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Input | $0.037 | $2.00 / $4.00 | $1.00 |
| Output (incl. reasoning) | $0.187 | $12.00 / $18.00 | $6.00 |
| Cached input | $0.037 | $0.20 / $0.40 | $0.20 |
| Workload | gpt-oss-120b on AkashML | Gemini 3 Pro Standard | Gemini 3 Pro Batch |
|---|---|---|---|
| One request: 100K in, 20K out | $0.0074 | $0.44 | $0.22 |
| One month: 300M in, 60M out | $22.32 | $1,320 | $660 |
On that monthly agent workload, gpt-oss-120b on AkashML is about 59x cheaper than Gemini 3 Pro Standard and 30x cheaper than Batch. Both models bill reasoning tokens as output, so high reasoning effort raises gpt-oss-120b’s token count, and different tokenizers mean totals won’t match exactly.
Sources: AkashML pricing; Gemini API pricing.
Is gpt-oss-120b as good as Gemini 3 Pro at tool use?
No: Gemini 3 Pro leads on every benchmark in the table below, but gpt-oss-120b handles structured tool calling well at a fraction of the cost. OpenAI says gpt-oss-120b matches or beats its o4-mini on TauBench, a tool-calling benchmark.
| Benchmark (%) | gpt-oss-120b (high) | Gemini 3 Pro | Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tool calling, Retail (τ-bench / τ²-bench) | 67.8 | 85.3 | 90.8 |
| SWE-bench Verified (real GitHub fixes) | 62.4 | 76.2 | 80.6 |
| GPQA Diamond, no tools | 80.1 | 91.9 | 94.3 |
| Terminal-Bench 2.0 | Not reported | 56.9 | 68.5 |
Figures are vendor-reported. OpenAI used τ-bench and Google used the newer τ²-bench, so treat the first row as directional.
Sources: gpt-oss model card; Google DeepMind: Gemini 3.1 Pro.
When is Gemini 3 Pro the right call?
Gemini 3 Pro is the right call when a task needs more than 128K tokens at once, needs non-text input, or is hard enough that accuracy outweighs cost.
- Long context: a full monorepo or hours of transcripts in one prompt, no chunking.
- Multimodal input: screenshots, scanned forms, audio and video.
The tradeoff is lock-in. Google sets the price and the deprecation schedule, and the original Gemini 3 Pro ID was retired about 16 weeks after launch (Gemini API deprecations).
Where can you run gpt-oss-120b?
You can call gpt-oss-120b through any hosted API that serves it, through model routers such as OpenRouter, or self-host the Apache 2.0 weights on one 80 GB GPU such as an NVIDIA H100. On AkashML it runs behind an OpenAI-compatible endpoint that supports tools, tool_choice, response_format and reasoning_effort, so existing OpenAI SDK code needs only a new base URL, API key and model name:
import osfrom openai import OpenAI
client = OpenAI( base_url="https://api.akashml.com/v1", api_key=os.environ["AKASHML_API_KEY"],)
tools = [{ "type": "function", "function": { "name": "get_order", "description": "Look up an order's shipping status by order ID", "parameters": { "type": "object", "properties": {"order_id": {"type": "string"}}, "required": ["order_id"], }, },}]
response = client.chat.completions.create( model="openai/gpt-oss-120b", reasoning_effort="medium", messages=[{"role": "user", "content": "When does order 4417 ship?"}], tools=tools,)
for call in response.choices[0].message.tool_calls or []: print(call.function.name, call.function.arguments)AkashML is also listed as a gpt-oss-120b provider on OpenRouter. Teams that need dedicated, reserved GPU capacity can use Akash Enterprise.
If gpt-oss-120b falls short but you want to stay open, step up to a larger open model first: GLM 5.3 on AkashML (753B MoE, 1M context) costs $0.19/$4.40 per million tokens.
Try it: test gpt-oss-120b in the AkashML Playground, or create an account and follow the quick start to make your first API call.
Run it on Akash
Rent the GPU and run the model yourself, or call it through an API.
AkashML
Call the model
Skip the infrastructure. Send requests to open models like Qwen, GLM and Kimi through an OpenAI-compatible API, served on Akash.
Pay per token, no GPUs to manage
Try AkashML (opens in a new tab)Akash Console
LiveRent the GPU
Deploy any container on a GPU from the Akash marketplace. Providers bid on your deployment and you accept the offer you want.
From $1.67 per GPU-hour
Rent a GPU (opens in a new tab)FAQ
gpt-oss-120b vs Gemini 3 Pro: which is better?+
Gemini 3 Pro scores higher on coding, reasoning and agent benchmarks and accepts images, audio and video. gpt-oss-120b is the better fit when you need open weights, predictable costs at high volume, or self-hosting. Many teams send routine traffic to gpt-oss-120b and escalate only the hardest tasks.
What is the context length of gpt-oss-120b?+
gpt-oss-120b supports 131,072 tokens, usually written as 128K, shared between prompt and response. That covers long contracts, multi-file code reviews and lengthy agent histories. Workloads that must fit a whole monorepo or hours of transcripts in one prompt need a longer-context model such as Gemini 3 Pro.
Is gpt-oss-120b good for coding?+
gpt-oss-120b is solid for everyday coding: OpenAI reports 62.4% on SWE-bench Verified at high reasoning effort. It handles code generation, review and bug fixing well. For autonomous agents working across large repositories for hours, Gemini 3 Pro scores noticeably higher, at 76.2% on the same benchmark.
Can I use gpt-oss-120b commercially and self-host it?+
Yes. gpt-oss-120b uses the Apache 2.0 license, which permits commercial use, modification and redistribution. Teams can call gpt-oss-120b through a hosted API, fine-tune it on a single H100 node, or run the weights on their own GPUs, and the license terms stay the same in every case.
Is Gemini 3 Pro still available in the API?+
Google shut down the gemini-3-pro-preview model ID on March 9, 2026, and requests to it now route to Gemini 3.1 Pro Preview at the same list price. Code that still calls the old ID now gets Gemini 3.1 Pro, which scores higher on coding benchmarks than the original November 2025 release.